WELCOME

Construction of this majestic theatre commenced in 1899. Since this date the Opera House has gained national and international recognition for its beautiful architecture and its great acoustics. The Opera House is used regularly by touring artists and shows as well as by local productions, fashion shows and local dance groups.

We look forward to welcoming you to a show very soon.

For a full listing of upcoming shows - CLICK HERE >

Jack and the Beanstalk

Rep jack shortened 192x200FE FI FO FUM
Repertory Theatre, 4 Ridgway Street
Friday 15 & Saturday 16 Dec 6.30pm
Sunday 17 December 1.30pm
DOOR SALES available for this weekend - cash only

Wednesday 20, Thursday 21 & Friday 22 Dec 6.30pm
Saturday 23 December 1.30pm & 6.30pm
btn-booknow

Whanganui Opera Week

WOW logo 2016
 
WHANGANUI OPERA WEEK
NZ OPERA SCHOOL
 
for the full programme
 
LUNCHTIME RECITAL
Wednesday 10 January 12noon  -  Heritage House
btn-booknow
MASTERCLASS 1 with Cesar Ulloa
Friday 12 January 7.30pm  -  Prince Edward Auditorium
btn-booknow
MASTERCLASS 2 with Della Jones
Monday 15 January 7.30pm  -  Prince Edward Auditorium
btn-booknow
GREAT OPERA MOMENTS
Saturday 20 January 7.30pm  -  Royal Wanganui Opera House
btn-booknow

Shakespeare

The Tempest 246x162
 THE TEMPEST
 
Thursday 22 & Friday 23 Feb 7pm
Saturday 24 February 3pm & 8pm
Bason Botanic Gardens
btn-booknow

Foster & Allen

FosterAllen 360x270px
LEGENDARY IRISH
FOLK MUSIC DUO 
 
Friday 4 May 7pm
Royal Wanganui Opera House
btn-booknow

RNZB Tutus on Tour

Tutus Hero image 360 x 270 px  002
 
ROYAL NZ BALLET
 
Friday 13 July 6.30pm
Royal Wanganui Opera House
btn-booknow

A Record Reign

A record Reign Cover
 
A RECORD REIGN
 
Written by Penny Robinson
Research assistant
Pam Richardson

Published by Friends of the Opera House
In 1897, a Wanganui Borough Councillor suggested setting aside land for a public opera house to commemorate the record reign of Queen Victoria.
BUY NOW